On Injury

Injured ankle and dancing shoes

I always imagined my first sport related injury would come from climbing but I was wrong. (Although, I did have a pretty close shave last year when I fell with my arm stuck in a crack.) But no, it came from ballroom dancing.

I’ve done something to my ankle. I’m not quite sure what, but it hurts when I put weight on it and I’ve been resorting to ice packs, an ankle support and seem to have developed a limp.

It all happened when my foot rolled in my shoe earlier in the day, then in the evening I was having a dance lesson on carpet rather than on a normal dance floor because our usual space had been taken. The friction of the carpet and the jive didn’t mix. Then I got through far more rounds of the IVDC at the weekend than I thought possible and the ankle is now making me pay.

I always used to think that people who didn’t rest after getting an injury were just stupid, but I know realise it’s not that simple. I know that I shouldn’t dance at the moment, but I just keep hearing dancing music everywhere and am super jealous of everyone I see dancing. I just can’t help myself. I know what I really need is rest but all I want to do is dance.

Leave a comment